Where I’m going

My last post was about last year and how the path to my goals didn’t work out the way I planned. Of the three big goals I set for the year, I achieved one and only by the skin of my teeth.

Of course lessons were learned and hopefully I can apply them to this year’s goals and training.

One of the lessons I struggled with was reevaluating goals as time passed. I set a yearly mileage goal of 2,015 miles, which averaged to around 7  miles a day if I took a rest day once a week. However, halfway through the year, I was behind the pace and desperately needed the rest time. I was afraid to take it because it would put me farther behind. (I’m a get it done early type of person, so you can imagine how frantic I was.)

It took another three months until I was willing to let go of that goal. I decided to get as close as I could, but if I could only go a mile on a day, I would be content, knowing that I was trying my best and doing as much as I could.

Maybe that’s when the clarity came… once I gave up the tight focus on how many miles I was going to run, I could see everything more clearly.

I discovered the problem wasn’t fatigue and overtraining, but food intolerance.

For 2016, I decided that a yearly mileage goal was too much. It didn’t allow me to make good decisions about rest when I needed it. It added stress when running is supposed to be my stress reliever. I’m not saying that once November and December roll around, I won’t try for a round number, but that isn’t my focus in February.

So far I have three races planned:
  • A trail half marathon In April with my running group.
  • A marathon at the end of May on a flat and fast course, hoping for a Boston qualifying time.
  • The last race is another trail half marathon with my running group in August. I’ve heard horror stories about the hills on this course. I fully expect to fall on my face at some point.
The difference this year is that I look forward to these races with excitement and fun instead of pressure and exhaustion.
What do you look forward to this running year?
Published by

Joselyn

SAHM writing romance with at a case of the giggles. Former librarian. Avid reader. Runner.

2 thoughts on “Where I’m going”

    1. I fell spectacularly three times on one trail run after being warned that everyone falls. No one else did that day. I don’t wear the Superman shirt for trail runs anymore. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.